Logo Lovable Lincolnton

City Council

John O. Gilleland, Jr., Mayor

The Mayor is the chief elected official of the City of Lincolnton.  The Mayor is elected, at large, for a two-year term. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the Lincolnton City Council. The Mayor votes to break a tie vote and does not have veto power. The Mayor appoints members to various municipal boards and commissions, issues special proclamations, meets with citizens groups, and represents the City at various local, state and national meetings. The Mayor serves as the City's Chief Ambassador, meeting with dignitaries and business representatives. The Mayor plays an important role in the development of Lincolnton's municipal policy.


City Council:

Devin Rhyne, Councilman - Ward I

John “Les” Cloninger, Councilman - Ward II

Martin Eaddy, Councilman - Ward III

Larry Mac Hovis, Councilman - Mayor Pro-Tem, Ward IV

Composed of four members, the Lincolnton City Council is the legislative body of the City of Lincolnton. Members are elected at large but must file for election by ward. Two members of City Council are elected every two years, serving four-year terms.

The City Council appoints the City Manager and the City Attorney is responsible for passing all ordinances and resolutions; approves the annual operating and capital budgets; sets the ad valorem tax rate; sets utility rates; make appointments to various boards, commissions, and agencies of the city; and adopts long range plans and polices

City Council Meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. and held in City Council Chambers located on the first floor of City Hall located at 114 W Sycamore St.


2015 City Council Meeting Dates

Public Comment - procedures