City Council

Composed of 4 members, the Lincolnton City Council is the legislative body of the City of Lincolnton. Members are elected at large but must file for election by ward. There are 2 members of City Council that are elected every 2 years, for 4-year terms.

The City Council appoints the City Manager and the City Attorney. The council is responsible for: 

  •  Passing all ordinances and resolutions
  •  Approving the annual operating and capital budgets
  • Setting the ad valorem tax rate
  •  Setting utility rates
  • Making appointments to various boards, commissions, and agencies of the city
  • Adopting long range plans and policies



  •  Time: 7 p.m.
  •  Date: The first Thursday of every month
  •  Location: City Hall, Council Chambers
                                114 W Sycamore St.
                                Lincolnton, NC 28092

 Agendas & Minutes

 View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Lincolnton Ward Boundary Map